Mid Year Update

IMG_3577

So somehow 2017 is half over. Lets look back on the goals we set on New Years and see if we’re on track so far.

  1. Don’t Take on Any New Debts: Check! So far we’ve only reduced our debt and not taken any new debts on, even despite an unforeseen $800 medical bill.
  2. Recommit to Mint: Meh. This one is about 50:50 so far. I definitely started out the year with more excitement about Mint, and its kind of tapered off since then. Taking this mid year review to reinvigorate!
  3. IMG_3089Pay Off the Van: Check! And a big Wooooooo!!!!!!! We now have NO car payments and both of our cars are totally paid for. I’m not sure if we’ve ever done this as a couple, and it feels so good. Now that $191/ month is going back into the home renovation account that we dipped into to make this happen since there have been huge delays in getting our boiler replaced. After that, it’ll go into the debt snowball towards my remaining student loans.
  4. IMG_3088Student Loans: At the beginning of the year my goal was to get my total student debt under $10,000, which I’ve done so check!! I hate my student loans so much; I have such a bitterness towards them. Especially after I looked back over my transaction history and saw that when I initially started paying them off in 2010, almost my entire payment was going to just interest. Seriously like $113 of a $140 payment. Just interest. Just for the sole privilege of having a loan. If you follow me on Instagram you know that I’ve paid off Mohela completely and my total student debt is now at $7,915.
  5. Remodel the Bathroom: Nope. I can’t. Believe. How long its taking to get this boiler replaced. We seriously started this process in the fall. Almost zero progress has been made so far. We needed to pour a concrete slab in the basement to put the thing on, then we have to have someone upgrade the electrical panel, and then the guy will come out and do it. Not to mention the weather had to be above 50* for a certain number of days so the concrete will cure. The slab is now poured and set, which is something, but we’re still waiting for an electrician. So I guess we’ll sit on this one for a while. Which makes me crazy because the plumber didn’t even give us a rough estimate, so we don’t have a good idea how much money we need to keep on hand to pay for this. We had budgeted and saved $10,000, but when we told him that he laughed and said “no way, not that much.” So now I feel like we have some extra money hanging around that we could be using for something else. So the whole bathroom project is probably going to be pushed to next year, since literally nothing can happen until the old heating system is out and the old chimney is removed.  Sigh.

 

So I feel confident about where we’re at for the halfway point this year. The only thing we’re stalling out in is the bathroom project, and that has a lot of moving parts that aren’t just financial. I can’t wait to see where the next 6 months takes us.

Author: Christina

I'm Christina! A 20-something wife to Jeff, mother of 3, just trying to take over the family finances, drink coffee and raise babies.

Leave a Reply

