Take Out Night on a Budget: Chinese

IMG_2437

It’s take out night with Aldi!

I love Chinese food so much. I could eat crab rangoon until I’m sick, and if I’m being honest. I probably have.

We used to spend upwards of $70 on one night of Chinese take out. That’s insane. I knew that’s way too much, but I was’t sure I could give up Chinese food for good. Not to mention that I’ve been on a mission to lose some baby weight, and gorging myself on Szechuan chicken isn’t in the plan.

IMG_2196That’s why I was so excited when I could the Fusia line at Aldi. We’ve tried other at home Asian foods from other stores and they (somehow) were both expensive and kind of ‘meh’ in taste.

This is a shot of the Fusia products at Aldi. I’ve tried the chicken lo mein, General Tso chicken and Szechuan vegetable stir fry. I also keep a bottle of Duck sauce in the fridge.

IMG_2262For our “home Chinese night,” I usually make Earthly Grains white rice, ($1.99) with vegetable stir fry ($2.69) and either chicken lo mein ($3.99) or General Tso’s ($3.99). A bottle of duck sauce is $1.99, and considering the 2lb bag of white rice lasts forever, our whole night of take-in is less than one entree used to cost when we had it delivered.

And I don’t even charge a delivery fee πŸ˜‰

Author: Christina

I'm Christina! A 20-something wife to Jeff, mother of 3, just trying to take over the family finances, drink coffee and raise babies.

Leave a Reply

