There are Sacrifices to be Made

IMG_2194

When we got married and started out on our own we were young, 21 and 22, but we didn’t care.

I had just graduated nursing school and passed the boards four months earlier, and Jeff was in the Marine Corps and working an entry level tech job.

So we had nothing. We bought a couch and a love seat for our tiny 650sqft apartment and everything else we had was a hand me down.

Eventually I replaced our black folding card table dinner set for a family antique after an elderly aunt and uncle went into a nursing home. I loved it. It has big claw feet and was old and wasn’t foldable. And that’s what we’ve been using for about 6 years.

Honestly, the love affair is over. The top wobbles and the veneer is starting to peel back again. And it’s just not my style.

I decided that since this year for Easter I’m having over all of my siblings, step siblings, spouses etc, that this would be a great time to replace the old table with something brand new to us. I picked out a really nice one after weeks of looking and comparing. I picked up extra shifts at the hospital and finally got all of the money together to buy my new table and a 3 person upholstered bench. That’s it up there in the photo from the Wayfair site.

Except I can’t do it. I can’t bring myself to spend the money knowing that we still have debts and things coming up that need paying for.

So I’ve sacrificed my new table for now. I took $360 of the 900 I’d saved up and used it to pay off a small student loan, and that helped ease the pain. I guess ole’ claw feet can survive another family gathering.

Maybe I’ll just get a nice tablecloth?

Author: Christina

I'm Christina! A 20-something wife to Jeff, mother of 3, just trying to take over the family finances, drink coffee and raise babies.

Leave a Reply

