New Resolutions 2017

Every year for the past few we’ve sat together on New Year’s Eve and come up with a few goals for the upcoming year. Whelp. I can’t find last year’s list. Surprise lol. But this is one of the reasons I decided to start this online journal, so I could document and track our progress, and not lose it.

  • Don’t Take on Any New Debts
    This one is pretty much a given that we add every year. I think its important to write out though, just for a reminder. Especially since we live in a house thats been in renovation mode.
  • Recommit to Mint
    We used to be really dedicated to tracking and categorizing every penny we spent in a month and then comparing it to what we’d budgeted for on Mint.com. Towards the middle of this year though, it kind of got left by the wayside. It’s pretty time consuming, and with Jeff in a new, more important job, he just didn’t have the time to dedicate to it. But I do. So I’ll be taking over the Mint and the day-to-day of the budget tracking.
  • Pay Off the Van
    Without checking the loan, I think we have about $8,000 left to pay off on the minivan. How nice it would be to not have a car payment, and to have that extra $200/month back in our pocket to use for something else. This is our #1 debt repayment priority for the year.
  • Student Loans
    Currently I have $11,769.78 left in student loans to pay off. This year I aim to reduce that number under $10,000. This is a pretty conservative goal as I’m pretty sure that my regular payments would accomplish it.
  • Remodel the Bathroom
    Now that the new boiler is going in within a couple of weeks, the chimney that vents it can come down giving us room to make the bathroom (a tiny bit) bigger. After the van is payed off, we can put the money saved on payments towards saving up for the bathroom. Currently we only have a stand up shower and the kids take baths in a big plastic storage bin I have to fill up then dump out and clean. Its a big pain in the butt. Its the only room we haven’t done any kind of work in. Its drafty, its ugly and the plastic tiles are falling off the walls. I can spend all day cleaning it and it still looks like yuck. This also takes time however, and a big part of if this goal can be accomplished is if Jeff gets time off of work to do it. So we’ll see.

 

So this is the game plan as of right now. If some miracle occurs and we accomplish our goals sooner or some how fall into extra money I’ll update them as we go. I also plan on writing about exactly HOW we’ll be working towards them all year. After writing out what we accomplished last year, I can’t wait to see what 2017 brings!

Author: Christina

I'm Christina! A 20-something wife to Jeff, mother of 3, just trying to take over the family finances, drink coffee and raise babies.

1 thought on “New Resolutions 2017”

Leave a Reply

