Mama Bailey Gets Fit (Again)

Almost 2 years ago I was in the best shape of my adult life. I lost 60 lbs and I was down to my teenage weight. Wow, 60 lbs. That seems so ridiculous typing it out. I was eating healthy and exercising multiple times a week.

collage
Before and after from two years ago. With baby Abby in the back!

Needless to say, I’ve gained it all back and am completely out of shape again.

A few weeks ago I had restarted Weight Watchers using my old paper slider and classroom books someone had given me years ago. I lost 9lbs really fast but then lost momentum and gave it up.

Not this time. I’m totally committed. I got out my old 30 Day Shred DVD, some new workout leggings and Weight Watchers friendly food. Today was Day 1 and I can honestly say, I forgot how hard this is lol.

It’s hard for me to make time for myself, whether planning out meals or taking time to work out. There always seems to be something more important that I should be doing instead. Shouldn’t I be cuddling the baby? Aren’t there dishes to put away? Have I swept the food off the floor in the kitchen today? I think that’s how a lot of moms feel. It’s so much easier just to shove a cookie in my face (with the baby on my hip, laundry in the dryer and a 3 and 5 year old asking me for things) than it is to actually make something nutritious.

But I also think I USE the fact that I’m a (semi) working mom to get out of doing things that I don’t want to. Especially diet and exercise. I can’t POSSIBLY work out because I’m far too busy right?

This time though, I have goals. And motivation. My next appointment with my doctor is in February, one year from Ben’s birth. I want him to see how hard I’ve worked and be proud of me. We know we want more children, so I know that to maintain my health in the long run, this is important stuff. I can’t be obese. I want to be around and active to take care of my children and grandchildren.

So here it is, accountability picture from after tonight’s workout. My face is red and sweaty and my glasses make my whole face look odd but. Its a start!

img_1577

Author: Christina

I'm Christina! A 20-something wife to Jeff, mother of 3, just trying to take over the family finances, drink coffee and raise babies.

One thought on “Mama Bailey Gets Fit (Again)”

Leave a Reply

