Clutter

Clutter kills me.

When I look around my house and see things laying out of place, or an over cluttered counter or tabletop, it makes me insane. It makes my neck tense up.

It doesn’t even necessarily have to be at home. As soon as I get to work, after getting report on my patients, I start throwing things out. Empty bottles, cups, scribbled notes and stray papers all get immediately swept into the trash can. Then I can focus.

I even bang out the keyboard out onto the desk and then wipe the desk top.

With three kids in the house, the clutter adds up fast. I do my best every day to keep a handle on it, but every so often, I can feel it taking over. The toys spill out into the dining and living room, the craft cabinet overflows and starts pushing the curtain out of the way, the kitchen cabinets don’t quite close. We clean up overnight before bed, but there just doesn’t seem to be a place to put anything.

So with the dumpster already here for the basement clean out (not to mention that it’s free after the sale of my car), I thought “hey, why not clean out the whole house!”

I only wish I had more arms to carry stuff out with.

My first project is the kid’s playroom. With Abby’s 4th birthday and Christmas both coming up, I know its going to get out of control any minute.

Here are some unfiltered, cluttered up, uncleaned or put away or organized before images. The plan is to purge unused toys and junk then organize everything else into bins and baskets. Jeff is working on shelves and a reading bench for around the window.

Once upon a time this room was clean and neat and everything had a place. Pretty soon again it will be!

Author: Christina

I'm Christina! A 20-something wife to Jeff, mother of 3, just trying to take over the family finances, drink coffee and raise babies.

Leave a Reply

