But First, Coffee

photo-14

I love coffee. So much. Especially now that it’s fall in New England, a delicious hot pumpkin spice Great One with skim and sugar from Dunk’s would be an ideal start to my morning.

It’s not even really for the caffeine (ok maybe a little bit). I just love how it tastes. It’s nice and warm. Perfect way to wake up.

But its SOOOoooo expensive! I just can’t justify spending a couple of bucks every day on coffee. Plus, with that delicious coffee always comes a beautiful muffin… or an egg white flatbread.. donut for the kids… It ends up being $5-7 every. Day. Thats $35 a week.. $140 a month? Think of what you could do with that. I’ve written before about how I gave up drive-through coffee and bought a new couch.Β What Do You NEED Really?

Thankfully there’s a way to have your coffee AND meet your financial goals.

Most major coffee house chains have a take-home version that cost $6-10 a bag. My favorite is Boston’s Best, which at around $4 is so reasonable. A bag lasts me about 2 weeks and according to the lines on my pot, that’s 5 cups (I know, FIVE) per day.

There’s also a million different kinds of creamers in every flavor under the sun. Seasonal ones, classic ones, Dunkin Donuts even has a line out that mimics how you order at the window. International Delight is $3.19 a bottle and I get 2 for 2 weeks.

So I can have my coffee every day, a 5 cup large size, flavored exactly like or better than the window, for 74 cents per day. CENTS. A commercial cup is over $2.

Not convinced? This may be the one time you ever hear me say this but: Treat Yourself.

Buy a cute mug. A new coffee maker. A mug cozy. If you don’t feel like you’re depriving yourself you’ll be less likely to give up. I pour my iced coffee in a big mason jar all summer and drink it with a reusable straw. Frugal doesn’t have to be boring.

In this one instance, you’ll save so much money, that any new mug cup or cozy will be paid for in a week or so. Even if you buy a new mug every month, that pales in comparison to how much you’re used to paying at the counter or window.

Like a fancy drink? Get inspired with all these copy cat recipes onΒ Pinterest. So tempting.

Author: Christina

I'm Christina! A 20-something wife to Jeff, mother of 3, just trying to take over the family finances, drink coffee and raise babies.

Leave a Reply

